Cecil Harford USBC Association

1016 Young Ave

Bel Air Md, 21014-1870   


Association # 86494

Championship Tournament is sponsored by Rackbusters Pro Shop



"Meritorious Service"





Being well known in the bowling circle often means that one is a very good bowler. Not so in the case of Margaret Scott Russell, deceased. Although she was a good bowler (winning the Harford County Invitational Tournament in 1963), this was not her finest achievement.

Margaret put all of her untiring efforts into making the Harford County Women's Bowling Association the fine organization that it is today.

Harford County women bowlers withdrew from the Baltimore WBA in 1963 and Margaret allended the initial meeting of what is now the Harford County Women's Bowling Association, helping to draw up that constitution.


She was elected to the office of Secretary in August, 1963 and remained in that position as the backbone of the organization for the next 14years.

A charter member of the Maryland State Women's Bowling Association, she was on the constitution committee which started that organization in 1964.

Margaret personally organized many leagues and assisted others in their formation. She was a bowling instructress for several years, and taught many young people in the Junior Leagues. She was league secretary and/or statistician in many leagues including men's leagues.

Getting things started was Margaret's forte. She was on the reporting staff of the original Pin Dust publication and was instrumental in formatting the first women's average bookfor the Harford County Women's Bowling Association. The association "Over Average Award" pin and the revival of the Pin Dust in 1977 were also accomplishments that she initiated and/or influenced.

When Margaret Russell resigned as Secretary for health reasons in 1977 she was elected as Vice President, allowing her to continue to lend a guiding hand to the HCWBA Board of Directors until 1979.
The Harford County Women's Bowling Association still honors her each year by presenting the "Margaret Russell Award" to the highest composite average bowler for the previous season.